Henry David Thoreau on doing good

While reading an article entitled Universal Health Care Isn’t Worth Our Freedom I was struck by these closing remarks of the article which help frame the concept of Freedom in the much larger context where it rightly belongs:

“If I knew for a certainty that a man was coming to my house with the conscious design of doing me good, I should run for my life.” – Henry David Thoreau

One thought on “Henry David Thoreau on doing good

  1. I greatly admire Thoreau, and I have a hard time believe he would side against a single-payer health care system. I think he would be appalled by the fact that so many millions of poor Americans are uninsured – even though the country is the richest in the world. Sure, he was all about personal freedom, but that’s all irrelevant if you don’t have the freedom to survive.

Leave a Reply

